Reviews Zarek15

Very nice to see an old favourite Ignaz Schick turning up in such well-designed livery on his own label; The Myth of Persistence of Vision Revisited (ZAREK 15) is one of the most handsome geometric covers we’ve seen here for a while, with a title straight from the pages of Jorge Luis Borges (or rather perhaps a literary critic writing about Borges). It’s a duo with Italian percussionist Andrea Belfi, and Schick contributes bowed objects, a turntable, and a “looper pitcher” to the improvising picnic. Attractive fuzzy surfaces and effects throughout, but in terms of performance it’s rather a subdued outing from the duo, where percussive objects are brushed endlessly around with circular arm movements as though they were making a chocolate cake mix without the aid of an electric whisk.

Ed Pinsent – The Sound Projector, February 2011

Its been a while since last reviewing any music by Ignaz Schick or his Zarek label, but that’s doesn’t mean that he wasn’t active, as these two duo discs proof. Schick is an improviser, so playing concerts is perhaps more his trick of the trade than releasing CDs. Both of these discs were created as part of improvising, but the one with Andrea Belfi was done over the course of a week of playing together, while the one with Szczesny was done in concert. Schick plays on both turntable, objects, gongs, bows, looper/pitcher and percussion. With Belfi he has been playing concerts since 2008, in which Belfi plays drums, percussion, gongs, nord modulator, looper and feedback. Its a meeting of two ends of the improvising spectrum. In the left corner is Schick who loves things to be drone like, electro-acoustic and who is never shy of a bit of a noise, whereas in the right corner we find the sparse playing of Belfi which is a curious mixture of (post-) rock, minimalism and ambience. It works quite well, I must say. Belfi lays down his ‘easy going’ playing, adding perhaps the more ‘melodic aspect’ of the playing, while Schick provides with stretched out tonalities in which Belfi’s playing seem to float around, as in weightless space. A fine collision of interests: Belfi’s sparse drumming versus Schick’s love of drone like textures and electro-acoustic adventures. A highly controlled disc of some great interaction.

Frans De Waard – Vital Weekly, February 2011

This collaboration involving drums, percussion, gongs, synthesiser, feedback, turntable, and myriad objects, explores a dialectic between the timeless stillness of gamelan and the academic coldness of white noise. And the complex relationships continue: it would be wrong to view The Myth of Persistence of Vision Revisited as a duo improvisation; rather, Belfi and Schick function as a single many-handed entity, attacking the array of instruments nonchalantly, octopus-like, creating a suite of strong, lithe, and cohesive pieces.
I prefer those on the peaceful gamelan-like axis, such as the lovely opener ‘Myth 1’, spacious patterns of clangs echoing against tiny blips and gated streams of hiss. They work these shapes into a steady rhythm, and here, particularly with the stroked buzz of a snare, they closely recall Austrian group Radian, by way of steel panner Yoshio Machida. They also have a sense of humour, basing their longest track ‘Myth 4’ around the most famous bell tune of all, that of Big Ben. ‘Myth 5’ is perhaps the most austere, rubbed metal and flatulent brass arranged into ugly haphazard shapes, but Belfi and Schick remain engaging, in a Euro reductionist improve sense. All good then, and the cover art by Andreas Töpfer is gorgeous.

Joshua Meggitt – Cyclic Defrost, May 2011

Only pervious experience of the players will suggest who does what here. Schick – who also runs the Zarek label – favors spacey, drone based procedures, combining real-time electronics and percussion, notably gongs. On the Verona date, Belfi is the melodist, or the more linear, augmenting drums with gongs, looper, Nord modulator and feedbacks. He provides the armature. Schick puts on the flesh, but in intriguingly anomalous ways. Tolling gong sounds seem to presage something, and then disappear. Whispered messages are not repeated. Nothing remains in any state for long, so the music’s coherence is entirely of the moment. Persistence of aural vision is, indeed, a myth.

Brian Morton – The Wire, April 2011

Even more bewitching is this other collaboration. Andrea Belfi plays electroacoustic percussion in post-rock mode. Schick makes experimental improvisation based on turntables used to actually make objects spin. Surprisingly, their soundworlds complement each other well, one tempering the other’s dreamy side, the other adding a certain beauty to the arid ideas of the one. The Myth and Persistence of Vision Revisited is a finely crafted studio creature, a labour of love.

Monsieur Délire, February 2011

Um Häuser besser, weil ungleich spannender, gestaltet sich due deutsch-italienische Kooperation mit dem elektroakustischen Perkussionisten Andrea Belfi, dessen jüngste Soloplatte an dieser Stelle bereits in Richtung Himmel gelobt wurde. Hier ereignet sich bedeutend mehr als mit Szczesny und diese Ereignisse gehen nicht ohne gehörige Abenteuerlust vonstatten. vor allem Belfis Einfallsreichtum macht “The Myth …” zum Goldstück. Und weil das Haptische auch immer eine Rolle spielt: Beide CDs sind in schön-schlichtem Kartoncover auf dem uruguayischen Label Zarek erschienen – und gleichzeitig auf Zangi von Ignaz Schick.

Freistil – April/Mai 2011

Belfi und Schick kondensieren hier die Erfahrungen einer ganzen Reihe spontaner, gemeinsamer Livekonzerte. Aufgenommen wurde über eine Woche bei Belfi zuhause in Verona, gemixt in Schick’s Heimat Berlin, Ergebnis ist ein bis an die Grenzen erweitertes, klangfarbenmelodisches Percussionsalbum. Zentrales Instrument sind gongs, und die perfromanceunterstützende Integration von Turntables, Loopern und einem Nord Modular ordnet sich dem schlagwerkseigenen Charakter der Musik ganz unter. In ihren sechs Stücken nehmen sie sich bis zu einer Viertelstunde Zeit, ihrem Arsenal farbige und folgerichtige Entwicklungen zu entlocken, die bis auf einige vibrierende, an der Noise-Tür kratzende Höhepunkte zurückhaltend bleiben. Aber gerade die ruhigen, freien Momente haben es in sich, denn immer wieder kehren die beiden aus ihrem Material einen federleicht flatternden oder wippenden Puls nach oben, der subkutan immer da zu sein scheint und alles prima zuammenhält.

De:Bug May 2011

Comme souvent sur Zarek, l’histoire de cet album a commencé par un concert. Conviés à jouer ensemble à Berlin en 2008, Andreas Belfi et Ignaz Schick ont renouvelé l’expérience par la suite avant de se retrouver dans la maison de l’Italien, puis en studio, pour enregistrer les morceaux composés en commun. Précisément, d’une rencontre entre un musicien tourné vers une electronica accueillant de véritables percussions et un autre centré sur l’improvisation à base de bols et gongs filtrés numériquement, on pouvait imaginer qu’elle allait engendrer ce que ces six titres donnent à entendre. Soit une présence quasiment continue d’un élément de batterie (caisse claire la plupart du temps), une note tenue d’arrière-plan émanant du frottement d’un bol par un arc et quelques poussées électroniques sur le devant.

Avec ce type de proposition, on se situe fréquemment à la limite du perceptible ; aussi, on est soulagé de voir arriver un morceau comme Myth 4 dans lequel les bols sont frappés, le jeu de batterie plus franc et les larsens plus appuyés. À ces moments, on se prend à se figurer l’Italien et l’Allemand sur scène, en train de passer d’un instrument à l’autre, triturant leurs machines et s’emparant de leurs objets. Assurément, c’est ainsi que leur musique prend le plus de consistance et cette traduction discographie n’en donne qu’un aperçu.

François Bousquet – EtherReal, May 2011

Encore plus envoûtant est cette autre collaboration. Belfi fait de la percussion électroacoustique en mode post-rock. Schick fait de l’improvisation expérimentale à base de tourne-disque utilisés pour faire tourner des objets. Étonnamment, leurs univers se complètent bien, l’un tempérant le côté rêveur de l’autre, l’autre ajoutant une certaine beauté aux idées arides de l’un. The Myth and Persistence of Vision Revisited est une bête de studio finement ciselée et mûrie avec amour.
Deux aux 6 mythes, Andrea Belfi et Ignaz Schick, ermés de platines, gongs, percussions et autres appareils et instruments vous offrent donc 6 possibilités pour accrocher à une “soundscape” musique, un peu rock, forecément un peu tribale, électronique évidemment et fascinante à coup sûr.
Laissez- les emmener votre oreille à leur écoute, leur offre est novelle. Electro acoustique, drone … magique

Polychromic – April 2011

Percussioni, giradischi, effetti, vecchi sintetizzatori analogici e oggetti di chissà quale natura sono gli strumenti con i quali il veneto Andrea Belfi e il tedesco Ignaz Schick hanno costruito le sei tracce della loro prima collaborazione. Tra vagiti post-industriali e riti sciamani. Parte “Myth 1” e l’impressione è che i due musicisti abbiano voluto rileggere il ‘mito’ dei Can utilizzando la grammatica dell’elettroacustica. Il viaggio dura più di undici minuti e l’assuefazione è garantita. Dopo una parentesi di apparente tranquillità, “Myth 2”, la tensione
torna a crescere sotto l’incedere metronomico delle percussioni di “Myth 3”, mentre un drone colora di tinte Suicide l’atmosfera.

Roberto Mandolini Rockerilla

Runt om i Europa finns en mängd musiker som ihärdigt spelar och utvecklar sin musik. För massorna är de helt okända, många gånger även för de invigda. Namnen kanske formar en igenkännandets tanke, men slinter sedan ut i det diffusa. Börjar man forska hamnar man snart i det stora nätverk som utgör en avgörande del av den europeiska, och viss del även av den amerikanska experimentscenen. En mångfacetterad bild träder fram där olika angreppssätt, genrer, förhållningssätt, instrument och idéer blandas och skapar nya fält för musiken. Duon Andrea Belfi och Ignaz Schick är bara ett av många exempel på detta.
2006 släppte det svenska bolaget Häpna den italienska slagverkaren och elektro-akustikern Andrea Belfis Between Neck & Stomach, en skiva där han omvandlade ett helt hus till ett instrument. Tillsammans med Giuseppi Ielasi, Stefano Pilia, Valerio Tricoli med flera utgör han kärnan i det nya italienska avantgardet som inte bangar för rockinfluenser. I olika konstellationer har han gett ut musik på italienska Die Schachtel, bland annat den fina Knots. Han är också med på den skotske Paul Barans skiva Panoptic utgiven på svenska Fang Bomb. Han har spelat med musiker som Rhys Chatham, David Grubbs, Dean Roberts, Machinefabriek.
Den i Berlin verkande Ignaz Schick har ännu fler trådar ute, han driver bolaget Zarek som gett ut denna skiva, han är turntablist, ljudkonstnär, artist och kompositör, var curator för den stora Echtzeitmusik-festivalen i Berlin i höstas, är medlem i ”supergruppen” Phosphor, har spelat med allt från Don Cherry till Charlemagne Palestine, turnerat i Europa, USA och Ryssland. Med mera…
I deras gemensamma musik (inspelad i maj 2009) tar Andrea Belfi in rytmik och något som liknar strama postrocktakter på magert trumset (virvel, bastrumma och cymbal) plus annat som feedback, Nord modular, looper med mera. Ignaz Schick står för en hel del droner och annat som roterar, samt stråkar, objekt, turntable. Klockor, gonggongar och andra metaller har dessutom en central roll i flera av de sex ”myter” skivan består av. Men det är i mötet mellan det konkreta och abstrakta som den musikaliska spänningen uppstår. Och i själva soundet.
Förhållningssätten gnager smärtfritt mot varandra och i den öppna ljudbilden sker intressanta förskjutningar. Det är musik som tar tid på sig, som kräver utrymme, men ibland tar det lite väl lång tid med tappat fokus som resultat. Ett exempel på detta är ”Myth 4”, som också är den mest experimentellt trevande låten där de annars ganska fasta sammanhangen bryts upp i fragmentariska avsnitt.
Det är intressant att höra hur de arbetar på helt olika sätt. Det fina soundet i Belfis trumskinn gör att hans sparsmakade spel lyfter underbart. Han har också en fin tajming i sina tillslag och får visparna att låta som allt annat än jazz. Schick å sin sida jobbar cirkulärt. Hans instrument är en utbyggd skivspelare (?) där han sätter snurr på objekt som han drar stråkar och annat mot. På ”Myth 3” får han till en österländskt doftande drone, medan han annars håller sig mer inom en västerländsk elektroakustisk improvisationsmusik.
Tappat fokus till trots gillar jag skivan. Kort tillslag möter långa drag. Konkret möter abstrakt. Och soundet är öppet och luftigt (det är väl egentligen bara i slutet av “Myth 5” det blir lite klaustrofobiskt). Dessutom är det mycket oförutsägbart i sin blandning av rock, impro, drone och konstmusik.

Magnus Nygren – Sound Of Music


Advertisements